Natural and Organic Foods at Supermarkets

Author
matt@wh
Junior Burger
  • Total Posts : 3
2006/01/04 14:28:20 (permalink)

Natural and Organic Foods at Supermarkets

Hello,

I'm a journalist giving an uncompensated presentation to a group of supermarket operators in a few weeks, and I was hoping to get some anonymous opinions on a specific issue.

If you shop for "all-natural" or organic foods at your local supermarket, do you prefer for the store to group all these products together into a separate "store-within-a-store" area? Or, do you prefer for grocery stores to shelve organic and natural brands next to conventional products (as in, the organic cereal is in the cereal aisle, organic salsa next to all the other salsas, etc.)?

Anyway, I'm just looking for some anecdotes/opinions for this presentation. Comments won't be republished in print. Thanks for your opinion!

8 Replies Related Threads

efuery
    Double Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 630
    RE: Natural and Organic Foods at Supermarkets 2006/01/04 14:50:00 (permalink)
    For the most part, I really don't care where they are displayed as long as they carry them. The only exception would be produce that is not prepackaged which should be displayed seperately to prevent potential "cross-contamination" from waxes, preservatives and pesticide residues.

I would also like to see the larger supermarket chains do more to support and promote small organic farms in the states in which they are operating.
    lleechef
    Porterhouse
    • Total Posts : 11939
    RE: Natural and Organic Foods at Supermarkets 2006/01/04 22:28:43 (permalink)
    Our major grocery stores (we have 2 chains in Anchorage) both group all the organic foods together. Very convenient, you don't have to search the whole store for these products.
    sweetgherkin
    Hamburger
    • Total Posts : 88
    RE: Natural and Organic Foods at Supermarkets 2006/01/05 00:06:46 (permalink)